4 Hours of Spa Classic : Dholda Racing and PoweRacing-JapAuto Club keep up the suspense till the end


An indisputable prestigious event of the A-XOC Bikers'Classics 2019, the 4 Hours of Spa Classic held all its promises this Saturday night on a circuit of Spa-Francorchamps which was not spared by the showers, brief but at times very violent. Greg Fastré (Suzuki Team Force) took the best start, but he was quickly disabled by tyre choice that was not necessarily adapted to a very slippery track, especially at the Combes. Which also caused the quick loss of Steven Neate (Honda Neate Racing), who crashed at the start of the event!

The first part of the race was filled with incidents, the #56 of Fastré-Mertens-Le Bihan being the victim of a broken alternator sending it to the bottom of the ranking, while the Kawasaki Hampe Racing Haquin-De Dieuleveult, who had sneaked into the lead of the race, ended up quitting due to a broken gearbox. A disappointment also for the British Danny Webb (Suzuki Team Lincs Classic), who had given a nice show early in the race when conditions were difficult, but who was forced to stop for a long time at the edge of the track before being able to continue.

Three motorcycles did not need more to isolate themselves at the top of the rankings when the Safety Car came on the track just before the halfway point, the Honda Dholda Racing from Mertens-Bollaerts, the Honda PoweRacing-JapautoClub from Chevrier-Save Simon and the Yamaha Road Runner by van der Mark-Brand.

The last two hours of the race would be marked by less challenging conditions on the track, with the Honda's #87 and #10 changing first and second positions each time they passed the pitlane, and ultimately Gian Mertens and Yves Bollaerts imposed their Honda RC30 Dholda Racing in the general classification and in the Evo DG Sport Class with a advantage of less than 30 seconds on the Honda CB1100R PoweRacing-JapautoClub of Clément Chevrier, Matthieu Sauve and Matthieu Simon, who won in the FIM scratch classification and in the Maxi-Classic category. The absolute top 3 was completed by the Yamaha FJ 1100 Road Runner by Henk van der Mark and Dirk Brand.

Great performance also of the Suzuki GSX 1100 RTS of the British Edge Nick Edgeley and Johnny Towers, who won in the Open category, while the Suzuki GS1000 Team A.M. of the Belgians Patrick Chavanne and Antoine Doncq won in the Classic Class, after a nice demonstration of the Moto Guzzi Le Mans III Motobel by Christophe Charles-Artigues and Laurent Villergnier in the first part of the race. Belgian success also in Class Formula, with the Suzuki of Bikeparts Classic Racing with Sven Ketels and Denny Lannoo.